• Emergence
  • Posts
  • How to Get Out of the Newsletter Hell

How to Get Out of the Newsletter Hell

If you’re anything like me, you’ve been there — your inbox is swamped with newsletter after newsletter. When I signed up for them, each one seemed incredibly valuable, promising to keep me updated on the latest developments in my fields of interest. Over time, however, I found that my mailbox was less of an informational treasure trove and more of a chaotic sea of unread messages. I was in what I call the newsletter hell, and it was making me miss important emails amidst the noise.

However, I’ve discovered a way out of this newsletter hell, a way to make my inbox a resource again instead of a source of stress. Here’s my journey and what I learned along the way.

First, I realized that the problem wasn’t the newsletters themselves, but rather my indiscriminate approach to subscribing. It’s so easy to hit the ‘subscribe’ button, especially when promised exclusive content or exciting updates. The temptation is always there, but it’s crucial to remember that not everything written is worth our time. I had to learn to be selective about the information I consume, to choose wisely.

To do this, I began with a thorough inbox audit. I set aside a couple of hours on a weekend to go through my newsletters, one by one. For each, I asked myself, “Does this bring me value? Am I excited to read it? Does it provide information I can’t get elsewhere?” I found that many newsletters that initially seemed invaluable had become redundant, or even irrelevant.

The next step was unsubscribing from those that no longer served me. Most newsletters have an ‘unsubscribe’ button at the bottom, and clicking it feels incredibly liberating. I won’t lie, there was a part of me that hesitated, fearing that I might miss out on something important. However, I reminded myself of the clutter and stress these unnecessary subscriptions were causing.

Of course, some newsletters still slipped through the cracks. Some subscriptions made it hard to unsubscribe, while others seemed to ignore my request entirely. For these stubborn newsletters, I turned to apps designed to help manage subscriptions. I used tools like Unroll.Me and Leave Me Alone, which scan your inbox for subscriptions and let you unsubscribe from them all at once.

Even after this massive cleanup, I knew the temptation to subscribe to new newsletters would remain. To combat this, I set rules for myself. Now, before subscribing to a new newsletter, I wait. I bookmark the subscription page and revisit it after a few days. If the appeal still holds, then I subscribe.

Finally, I found it crucial to organize the newsletters I decided to keep. Most email platforms allow you to create folders or tags. I made separate folders for different categories like tech, health, and personal growth. I also set up rules to automatically route incoming newsletters to their respective folders. This way, my primary inbox remained clean, while my newsletters were neatly organized and ready for me when I had the time.

This whole process took time and effort, but it was worth it. The immediate relief of seeing a decluttered inbox was immense. Over time, I also noticed that I was better able to absorb and appreciate the content I did choose to receive. I was no longer in the newsletter hell; I was in control.

So, if your inbox is a source of stress, take a step back and consider taking a similar journey. There is a way out of the newsletter hell. You have the power to choose what you read and when. Not everything written is worth your time — and realizing that is the first step to reclaiming your inbox.